Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022 Start Date, Schedule, Team List

One of India’s most popular and domestic T20 cricket championships is the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. At the same time, I inform you that this trophy is organized by BCCI. Not only that it is named after the famous Indian Test cricketer Syed Mushtaq Ali. Basically, it is a Ranji Trophy game. Check Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022 Start Date, Schedule, and Team List.

However, BCCI introduced this Ranji Trophy in 2006-7. Similarly, it is established as an inter-state t20 championship. Along with this, Rohit Sharma scored the first T20 century as an Indian batsman. Furthermore, the winners and runners-up of each zone qualify for the knockout stages.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022 Start Date, Schedule, Team List

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022 Start Date
Image Credit: www

When the trophy was first introduced, it was won by Tamil Nadu. And at that time Tamil Nadu was led by the eminent cricketer Dinesh Karthik. It must be admitted that our India is not far behind. Unfortunately, BCCI announced the cancellation of the 2016 championship.

However, after going through a lot of unfulfillment, the championship is not cancelled. But of course, some new rules come into play. Tamil Nadu has become known as the most successful Syed Mostak Ali Trophy team to date.

ALSO CHECK: Legends League Cricket 2022 Start Date, Schedule, Participating Teams

The zonal system of this trophy was abolished in 2018-19. As a result, the teams have been drawn into five groups. And these groups are known as elite groups ABCD and E. Here I tell you that a total of 38 teams have appeared to play in these five groups.

Also, there are six teams and eight teams divided into a plate group. Not only that, each team plays a total of five league matches. Most importantly, the 38 teams play the same number of matches regardless of the group.

Start Date

This Ranji Trophy will be held from the 11th of October to the 22nd of October. Similarly, the knockout stages will be held from 30th October to 5th November.


As I said earlier there is a total of five groups in this trophy. And these groups consist of 38 teams in total. So without further ado, we will see the teams-

Lucknow, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Odisha, Maharashtra, Goa, Puducherry, Guwahati, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Mumbai, Baroda, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Andhra, Delhi, Railways, Assam, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Kerala, Bihar, Haryana, Rohtak, Sultanpur, Uttar Pradesh, Hyderabad, Uttarakhand, Saurashtra, Delhi, Chandigarh.


Unfortunately, no schedule has been given by BCCI.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.