Asia Cup 2022: India Will Look to Achieve 2nd Hat-Trick of the Title Win

The Asia Cup 2022 is going to be held in the UAE for the total of fourth time in Asia Cup history. Asia Cup will begin on August 27 and the final will be played on September 11. The Indian team will look to score a hat-trick of Asia Cup titles for the second time.

The Indian team had won titles in both the previous Asia Cups in 2016 and 2018. India also has been the consecutive champion in 1988, 1990/91, and 1995.

India has won 3 titles on the soil of the UAE

Another interesting fact about India is that whenever this tournament has happened in UAE, India has become champion, that is, three times so far. The Indian team won the first title on the soil of UAE in 1984 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev.

After this India won the Asia Cup in UAE in the year 1995. Third and the last title in UAE was in 2005. The Indian team has reached the title match the most 10 times and has become the champion 7 times.

Indian team played the Asia Cup under the captaincy of MS Dhoni 4 times

The team played the tournament under the captaincy of MS Dhoni four times in the tournament and has also become champion twice. After 2016, the tournament will once again is all set to be held in T20 format. India emerged victorious on the soil of Bangladesh.

India holds the record for most wins in the number of matches

Indian team has won 36 matches in Asia Cup so far, which is the most in Asia Cup history. In this case, Sri Lanka is in the second position and team Pakistan is in the number three position. Sri Lanka has won a total of 35 matches so far and Pakistan has won 28 matches.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.